Responsive Ad Slot



Relationship Matters


CHAN 2014 Final: Libya Beats Ghana To Win The Cup

Libya 0-0 Ghana (4-3 PSO): Mediterranean Knights win first continental silverware.

Libya beat Ghana on penalties to lift the third edition of the CHAN tournament in South Africa on Saturday night.

Libya national football team lifting the CHAN 2014 cup
photo credits:

Libya won their first continental title after beating Ghana in the final match at the CHAN tournament in South Africa.

The match ended goalless after 120 minutes, so the two teams needed the shootouts to determine the winner.

Ghana’s Michael Akuffo, Abeiku Aninson and Joshua Tijani missed their kicks.

At a point, it looked like a straight victory for the Mediterranean Knights after the Black Stars’ first two penalty takers wasted their kicks.

But it took Stephen Adams to put the west Africans in the game after pulling two crucial saves to take the scoreline to 3-3 after all five kicks were exhausted.

However, Tijani failed to extend the battle beyond the sixth kick after failing to convert his.

Ghana were chasing their first title at the senior level in 32 years while the north Africans were aiming at their first continental crown ever.

Interestingly, the last time Ghana won the Africa Cup of Nations in 1982, they beat Libya in the final in Tripoli.

But history could not repeat itself as Javier Clemente’s team snatched the trophy this time around.

The two teams met at the group stage and settled for a 1-1 draw. This was the third straight penalty shootout encounter for the Libyans right from the quarter finals to the grand finale.

Ghana who missed out on the gold medal at the inaugural competition in Ivory Coast in 2009 can boast of some discoveries for the Black Stars ahead of the World Cup.

Goalkeeper Adams who was praised by Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi produced an outstanding performance worthy of consideration for the vacant number three slot in the Black Stars set-up.

Defenders Nuru Sulley and Kwabena Adusei also did well during “auditioning” process.

Rwanda will host the next edition in 2016.

Source: Goal

Share this post with your friends and also feel free to add your comments below.

If you like what we post here, and you want more... Add us to your Circles, like our Facebook Page, Follow us on Twitter, follow us on google friend connect, or Subscribe to our RSS feed for our latest posts. Download our Toolbar and get all the latest posts from your browser.

No comments

Post a Comment