Responsive Ad Slot



Relationship Matters


Emir of Kano: Sanusi, Others in Succession Race

Emir of Kano: Sanusi, Others in Succession Race
Mallam Lamido Sanusi

The race to succeed the late Emir of Kano, Alhaji Ado Bayero, has begun.

Bayero, longest-serving emir in Kano’s history, passed on in the early hours of Friday after an undisclosed ailment.

He ascended the throne in 1963 and ruled for 50 years until his death and was buried in Kano a few hours later in accordance with Islamic rites.

Already, contenders for the throne have begun to emerge. They include the immediate past Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria, Mallam Sanusi Lamido, who holds the traditional title of Dan-majen Kano; his uncle, Sanusi Abbas, who holds the title of Wamban Kano and Sanusi Ado Bayero, the late emir’s first son, who is the District Head of Gwale.

Others are the Galadiman Kano, Alhaji Tijjani Hashim as well as two other princes, Aminu Bayero and Nasiru Bayero.

However, kingmakers have begun a closed door meeting to pick three names out of the eligible contenders for Governor Rabiu Kwankwaso to pick Bayero’s successor.

Heavy security presence was noticed in major areas within the Kano metropolis as prominent traditional rulers from across the country who attended the burial began to make their way into town for the funeral of late Bayero.

Alhaji Mahe Bashir Wali, who holds the traditional title of Walin Kano, read a formal obituary notice on the state radio to announce the demise of the emir.

He said “From Allah we come from and to Allah we return. The Emir of Kano passed away this morning. His burial will be conducted at 4:00pm.”

The emir, who survived an assassination attempt about two years ago, was flown to the United Kingdom for medical treatment on a number of occasions in the last few years after long battles with an undisclosed ailment.

New Emir of Kano to be announced on Sunday.

Governor Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso says the new emir of Kano would be announced Sunday.

The disclosure came on the heels of a visit by Kano kingmakers who submitted the three shortlist to the Governor.

The three kingmakers are Madakin Kano, Sarkin Bai, Sarkin Dawakin Mai’tuta, and Makaman Kano.

Share this post with your friends and also share your thoughts by adding your comments below. Follow us on Social Media - Add us to your Circles, like our Facebook Page, Follow us on Twitter, Follow us on Pinterest or Subscribe to our RSS feed for our latest posts.

No comments

Post a Comment