Responsive Ad Slot



Relationship Matters


Drivers, Traffic Warden, Cook Make 2014 National Honours List

Drivers, traffic warden, cook make national honours list
President Goodluck Jonathan

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved a list of 305 Nigerians, who will receive national honours this year.

According to a statement by the Director (Special Duties), Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Dr. Tunde Adeyemo, the list includes a traffic warden, Solomon Dauda; a taxi driver, Imeh Usuah, a driver at the Nigerian High Commission in Canada,Engeniusz Howski; and Head of Presidential stewards in the Presidency, Onuh Michael.

Usuah, who is said to have returned about N18m forgotten in his car by a passenger, will receive an MFR medal; Howski,MFR and Michael, MON.

Six military chiefs comprising the Chief of Defence Staff, Alex Badeh; the Chief of Army Staff, Kenneth Minimah; the Chief of Naval Staff, Usman Jibrin; the Chief of Air Staff, Adesola Amosu; the the Director of the National Intelligence Agency, Ayo Oke; and a former General Officer Commanding the 81 Division of the Nigerian Army, Sunday Chikwe, are also on the list.

The service chiefs and the NIA DG are to receive CFR medals while Chikwe will get OON.

The National Security Adviser, Col. Sambo Dasuki(retd); a former Military Administrator of Lagos State, Brig. Gen. Raji Rasaki; an ex-DG, National Youth Service Corps, Brig. Gen. Nnamdi Affia; the pioneer Force Commander of the African Union and ECOWAS Peace Mission, Usman Abdulkadir; the Chairman, United Nations Board of Enquiry in Abiyei, Lt. Gen. Chika Dibia- Obiakor; and a former Provost General of the Nigerian Army, Maj. Gen. Felix Iorshase, are listed among those to be honoured with CFR, CON, OFR and OON.

Also in the Commander of the Federal Republic (CFR) category are Hon. Justice Ibrahim Tanko Muhammad, Justice of the Supreme Court; (Justice Christopher Chukwuma – Eneh, Justice Muhammad Coomassie, Justice John Fabiyi, Justice Olufunlola Adekeye, a former Head of Service of the Federation, Bukar Aji; and Head of Service of the Federation, Danladi Kifasi.

Others in the CFR category are Oba Victor Kiladejo, Chief Philip Asiodu, President Goodluck Jonathan’s Chief of Staff Jones Arogbofa, Oba Jimoh Oyewumi, and Chief Kolawole Jamodu.

The National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun and a former Foreign Affairs Minister, Tom Ikimi, will be honoured with the CON medal.

Eighteen other Nigerians serving or retired from the Nigeria Police Force, Customs Service, Immigration Service and the Department of State Security also made the list.

They included a police inspector, Adekoya Jamiu (FRM1); the Acting Inspector-General of Police, Suleiman Abba; the Comptroller General of the Immigration Service, David Paradang; seven DIGs and two DSS directors.

Abba, like the service chiefs is to be honoured with a CFR medal while Paradang whose organisation organised the recruitment exercise that led to the death of some applicants in March 2014 is to receive OFR.

The DIGs were listed among those to receive OON while a former Chairman of the Police Service Commission, Simon Okeke, will get OFR.

Sportsmen and women, especially members of the victorious 2013 FIFA Under-17 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates, their officials and 2014 Commonwealth Gold medallists top the list of the would-be honourees.

Prominent among them are members of under-17 national football team including, Kelechi Iheanacho; Success Isaac; Akinjide Idowu and Salihu Baba, who will get Member of Order of Niger.

Members of the Under-20 national football team, including the highest goal scorer in the World Cup, Asisat Oshoala, will also get MON.

2014 Commonwealth gold medalist, Blessing Okagbare as well as former footballers like Nduka Ugbade and Emmanuel Amuneke are also on the list.

Also, eight governors and nine ministers will receive the award of Commander of Order of Niger.

The governors are Chief Theodre Orji (Abia); Mallam Isa Yuguda (Bauchi); Mr. Sullivan Chime (Enugu); Dr. Olusegun Mimiko (Ondo), Alhaji Sa’idu Dakingari (Kebbi); Senator Ibikunle Amosun (Ogun); and Dr. Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti).

The ministers are Prof. Chinedu Nebo (Power); Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau (Education), Mrs. Sarah Ochekpe (Water Resources); Mr. Mike Onolememen (Works); Labaran Maku (Information); Hajia Zanaib Maina (Women Affairs); Mallam Bashir Yuguda (Minister of State for Finance), Mr Nyesom Wike (Minister of State for Education); and Mr. Musa Sada (Mines and Steel).

While the Deputy Governor of Kano State, Dr. Umar Ganduje, made the list by getting OFR, the governor, Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso is missing on the list.

A former Minister of Indurstry, Chief Onikepo Akande; Senators Nkechi Nwogu and Babajide Omoworare will get CON.

The entertainment sector produced popular actresses like Joke Silva and Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde as well as an actor, Kenneth Nnebue. They will get MFR. This year, unlike two previous editions, there will be no conferment of GCON.

Last year, there was delay by the Federal Government in giving the medals and certificates to 355 Nigerians and foreigners who were bestowed with national honours in Abuja on November 14.

According to the statement,the Investiture holds by 9am on September 29, 2014 at the International Conference Centre in Abuja.

See full list below
List of 2013/2014 national awardees

Source: Punch

Share this post with your friends and also share your thoughts by adding your comments below. Follow us on Social Media - Add us to your Circles, like our Facebook Page, Follow us on Twitter, Follow us on Pinterest or Subscribe to our RSS feed for our latest posts.

No comments

Post a Comment